Assam New Year Bohag Bihu Calendar 2018 For Assamese Festival

Assam is the indian state on the north east border of India on the fertile land full of tea gardens. The assamese cultivation is the major vocation of the Assam natives with which their new year celebration begins with the harvest season.

The Assam New Year festival is observed with high fervor, worship, pompt and show. Assamese called this festival as Bohag Bihu means the 1st month of the Assamese calendar. As assamese lead a life with simplicity this particular festival is a non-religious festival. There are other festivals like Bohag Bihu namely Magh Bihu, Bhogali Bihu, Kati Bihu, and Kongali Bihu.

Bohag Bihu is celebrated in the month of April according to the Gregorian christian era calendar 2018. The word Bihu derives from the Dimasa Kachari language spoken by the native Dimasa Kachari tribe of the Assam. The harvested first crop is offered to the worshipping God, Brai Shibrai here which means Bi is ask and Shu is peace.

The first day of the Bohag Bihu calendar 2018 is the very significant festival for the Assam people. The people celebrating the Assam new year fill with several traditions and rituals are celebrated.

Month Date Festivals Place
April 13 – 15 Bihu Assam
April 15 – 21 Bohag Bihu Assam
June 22 – 25 Ambubachi Mela Kamakhya, Assam
January 15 Magh or Bhogali Bihu Assam, Assam
January 16 – 18 Dehing Patkai Festival Lekhpani, Tinsukia, Assam
February 11 Elephant Festival Kaziranga Kaziranga National Park, Assam
Date Day Holiday
15-Jan Mon Magh Bihu
26-Jan Fri Republic Day
31-Jan Wed Me-Dum-Me-Phi
1-Mar Thu Holi
30-Mar Fri Good Friday
13-Apr Fri Bohag Bihu Holiday
14-Apr Sat Bohag Bihu
15-Jan Mon Magh Bihu
26-Jan Fri Republic Day
31-Jan Wed Me-Dum-Me-Phi
1-Mar Thu Holi
30-Mar Fri Good Friday
13-Apr Fri Bohag Bihu Holiday
14-Apr Sat Bohag Bihu
1-May Tue May Day
15-Jun Fri Idul Fitr
15-Aug Wed Independence Day
22-Aug Wed Bakrid / Eid al Adha
2-Oct Tue Gandhi Jayanti
18-Oct Thu Maha Navami
19-Oct Fri Vijaya Dashami
7-Nov Wed Diwali
23-Nov Fri Guru Nanak Jayanti
25-Dec Tue Christmas Day


Leave a Reply