Bihar Government Public Holidays in 2017 Bihar Festivals

India’s only fully land-locked state is Bihar have route to the Kolkata port. The state lies on the way between West Bengal & Utter Pradesh with a transitional climate, economy & culture. Bihar is fame for festivals like any other state in India and it is ruled by the government of bihar state.

Biharis worship the ‘sun god’ due to its ancient history in India. Chatth Puja is one such sun god festival celebrated two times every year. That is one in Chaitra, as per the Hindu calendar during march month and other called Kartik in November. The first public holiday is called as holi and the latter public holiday is known as Chhath Puja.

Ram Navami is the Hindu festival and it is determined as public holiday in Bihar that commemorates the birth of the lord RAMA. ON this day of festival people observe fasting or offer prayers. Diwali is known as the Festival of Lights, observed in the month of October / november, whereas Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha is the Feast of the Sacrifice, celebrated all over the months of calendar year.

Sama-Chakeva is one more festival celebrated in Bihar particularly in Mithila. Makar Sankranti, Nagpanchami, Bihula are few other festivals observed in Bihar.

Date Day Holiday
5 Jan Thu Guru Govind Singh Birthday
26 Jan Thu Republic Day
(National Day)
1 Feb Wed Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami
24 Feb Fri Maha Shivaratri
12 Mar Sun Doljatra / Holika Dahan
13 Mar Mon Holi
22 Mar Wed Bihar Divash
4 Apr Tue Ram Navami
(Vaishnava)
9 Apr Sun Mahavir Jayanti
14 Apr Fri Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
23 Apr Sun Veer Kunvar Singh Jayanti
1 May Mon May Day
10 May Wed Buddha Purnima
9 Jun Fri Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti
26 Jun Mon Ramazan / Idu’l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 Aug Tue Independence Day
2 Sep Sat Bakri Id / Idu’l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
27 Sep Wed Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Saptami)
28 Sep Thu Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
29 Sep Fri Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 Sep Sat Durga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 Oct Sun Muharram
2 Oct Mon Mahatma Gandhi’s
Birthday
19 Oct Thu Diwali
(Festival of Lights)
21 Oct Sat Bhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
2 Dec Sat Milad-un-Nabi
(Prophet’s Birthday)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
25 Dec Mon Guru Govind Singh Birthday

For bihar government holidays in 2017 click here